The Sanskrit name for the heart chakra is Anahata which means “unstruck”, “unbeaten” or “unhurt”.

The heart chakra connects the first three (lower) chakras with the upper three chakras. The first three chakras (root, sacral and solar plexus) are mainly concerned with physical aspects of human life whereas the throat, third eye and crown chakras are of spiritual nature.

Anahata is located in the center of the chest. It is associated with the air element and the color green which represents love energy and transformation.

With its main mantra “I love”, the heart chakra is your center of love.

Silhouette of a person meditating with marked heart chakra area

Sanskrit Name: Anahata

Location: Chest (center)

Color: Green

Element: Air

Mantra: I love

Gland: Thymus

Seed Sound: YAM

When your Anahata is balanced, you are able to love and to accept love. You are joyful, compassionate, and full of empathy. You feel surrounded by love.

When your heart chakra is blocked and out of balance you have problems loving (starting with yourself). You lack empathy and compassion. You find it difficult to forgive.

There are many methods to balance your heart chakra, working with crystals being one of them. The six crystals below can be of a great assistance in healing your Anahata.

Check them out and grab your FREE printable cheat sheets and posters to help with the healing process.


    Rose Quartz

    Rose quartz is the most important crystal for the heart chakra. It is the stone of unconditional love and compassion.

    Rose quartz helps to open and purify the heart chakra at all levels.

    It is a wonderful crystal to foster your self-love.

    Rose quartz balances emotions: it will bring you calm and inner peace.

    You might find rose quartz particularly useful when working on forgiveness (it will help you to let go of resentment and anger).

    If you want to attract love into your life, make sure to have rose quartz around you :).


    Green Jade

    Green jade apart from being a prosperity and abundance stone is a wonderful stone to promote love of all kinds.

    The green jade’s vibration helps unblock your heart chakra, allowing for an undisrupted energy flow through Anahata. 

    Green jade is helpful in enhancing your self-love. It will encourage you to become who you really are: a loving and compassionate being.



    Rhodochrosite is full of healing energies.

    It is a perfect stone if you are struggling with self-love and self-compassion.

    It will help you heal emotional wounds and create or restore a sense of wholeness. You will be able to open your heart to love again.

    A cheat sheet card you might find useful when working with your heart chakra. To save or print it, just click on it 🙂



    Aventurine has calming and balancing properties.

    It is a great choice to heal your heart chakra (including a broken heart!).

    Aventurine enables and facilitates forgiveness. It will help you strengthen your compassion and empathy.

    You will find aventurine particularly helpful in maintaining (or building) a harmonious relationship.



    Use amazonite to bring joy and optimism into your life.

    It will help you unblock and balance your Anahata.

    Amazonite is a great stone for manifesting universal love as well as promoting empathy and compassion.

    It has a very soothing effect; you will find it particularly useful when dealing with emotional trauma.

    Amazonite will also help you communicate clearly your feelings.

    A printable poster you might find useful when working with your chakras. To save or print it, just click on it 🙂


    Moss Agate

    Moss agate is a grounding and stabilizing stone.

    It facilities forgiveness and is very useful in healing relationships.

    Moss agate is a stone of new beginnings. It will help you to let go of old patterns and spiritual blockages. It will aid you achieve emotional balance.

    It is a great stone to create and promote connection with nature.

    How To Use Your Crystals To Unblock And Balance Your Heart Chakra


    There are many ways in which you can use your crystals to unblock and balance your heart chakra (just make sure to have your stones cleansed before putting them to work :)).

    1. Meditate with your crystals.
    1. Carry them with you (in your pocket or purse for instance).
    1. Wear the jewelry made of the heart chakra stones (a nice necklace or bracelet is always a great idea :)).
    1. Place the crystals around your house (keep them on your desk, by your bed or even under your pillow, just to name a couple of ideas).

    A reference chart you might find useful. To save or print the poster, just click on it 🙂

    root chakra affirmations poster framed

    Grab your FREE printable cheat sheet cards for each of your seven chakras. A handy reference guide when working with your chakras :).

    And before you go to put your crystals to work, make sure to grab your FREE chakra printables to decorate your spiritual space with :)!

    Grab your FREE printable Chakra Posters!


    Copyrights to all free download materials belong to Your Blissful Self. They are for personal use only and cannot be sold or commercialised in any other way.


    All content and information on is for entertainment purposes only and does not substitute professional medical advice or consultations with healthcare professionals. If you need professional guidance or advice, we encourage you to seek professional assistance. None of the content has been reviewed or written by a medical professional and any reliance on the material on this site is at your own risk.