The heart chakra is all about love, compassion, and kindness. When your heart chakra is balanced you are able to love and accept love. You are in love with yourself, life, and the world. If you feel that your heart chakra might need some healing, try these five chakra yoga poses to help you balance and unblock your Anahata.

The Sanskrit name for the heart chakra is Anahata which means “unstruck”, “unbeaten” or “unhurt”.


    1.  Camel pose (Ustrasana)

      The Sanskrit name for the camel pose is Ustrasana where Ustra means “camel” and Asana “pose”.

      Benefits Of Camel Pose

      The camel pose:

      • stretches the anterior body,

      • tones the thighs, hips and glutes,

      • relieves tension in the neck, back and shoulders,

      • improves mobility,

      • opens the chest and expends the diaphragm (improving the respiratory and circulatory systems), 

        • increases focus,
        • reduces stress and anxiety.

        The video: “How to Teach Camel Pose | Teach Yoga with Briohny Smyth” by Yoga With Briohny

        root chakra affirmations poster framed

        Grab your FREE printable cheat sheet cards for each of your seven chakras. A handy reference guide when working with your chakras :).


        2.  Cobra pose (Bhujangasana)

        The Sanskrit name for the cobra pose is Bhujangasana with Bhujanga meaning “serpent” or “snake”.

        Benefits Of Cobra Pose

        The cobra pose:

        • opens the chest and lungs,

        • strengthens the back,

        • stretches muscles in the chest, shoulders, and abdominal area,

        • improves flexibility,

        • improves digestion (by stimulating the digestive organs),

        • improves blood circulation,

        • boosts mood,

        • can help improve sleep quality.


        The video: “Cobra Pose Tutorial: Step-by-Step How To & Tips (+ Learn Flexibility Benefits)” by DoYou


        3.  Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)

        The Sanskrit name for the bridge pose is Setu Bandha Sarvangasana with Setu meaning “bridge”, Bandha: “lock”, Sarva: “all”, Anga: “limb”.

        Benefits Of Bridge Pose

        The bridge pose:

        • strengthens back, thighs, ankles, and glutes,
        • reduces back pain and back tension,
        • opens chest and heart,
        • stimulates lungs, thyroid glands, and abdominal organs,
        • improves blood circulation and digestion,
        • reduces stress, fatigue, and anxiety,
        • alleviates headaches, insomnia, and mild depression.


        The video: “The Beginner’s Guide to Bridge Pose: A Step-By-Step Yoga Tutorial” by DoYou

        root chakra affirmations poster framed

        Grab your FREE cheat sheet cards with stones for each chakra. A handy reference guide when working with your chakras :). 


        4. Cow/ Cat pose (Bitilasana/Marjaryasana)

        The Sanskrit name of the cat pose: Marjaiasana, comes from Marjari meaning “female cat”. The name of the cow pose: Bitilasana, comes from Bitila meaning “cow”.

        Benefits Of Cat/ Cow Pose

        The cat/ cow pose:

        • brings flexibility to the spine,

        • stretches muscles of the hips, back, abdomen, and chest,

        • strengthens the spine and neck,

        • eases lower back pain,

        • releases neck tension,

        • improves body posture,

        • improves breathing,

        • increases emotional balance and inner resilience,

        • calms the mind and reduces stress,

        • clears energy blockages.

        The video: “Cat-Cow Yoga Pose – Yoga With Adriene” by Yoga With Adriene


        5.  Upward-Facing Dog (Urdhva Mukha Svanasana)

        In Sanskrit the upward-facing dog pose is called Urdhva Mukha Svanasana with Urdhva meaning “upward”, Mukha “face” and Svana “dog”.

        Benefits Of Upward-Facing Dog Pose

        The upward-facing dog pose:

        • opens the heart and chest,

        • stretches and strengthens the back,

        • strengthens the writs, arms, and shoulders,

        • improves posture,

        • tones the legs,

        • stimulates the abdominal organs improving digestion,

        • boosts energy.

        The video: “How To Do Upward Dog: A Guide for Yoga Beginners (+ Health Benefits)” by DoYou

        The reference charts you might find useful. To save or print the printables, just click on the one you like 🙂

        There are many ways to balance and unblock your heart chakra; yoga being one of them. Check other methods of healing your heart chakra.

        PLEASE NOTE:

        Copyrights to all free download materials belong to Your Blissful Self. They are for personal use only and cannot be sold or commercialised in any other way.

        And before you go to grab your yoga mat, make sure to grab your FREE chakra printables to decorate your yoga space with :)!

        Grab your FREE printable Chakra Posters!

        Your Blissful Self Shop


        All content and information on is for entertainment purposes only and does not substitute professional medical advice or consultations with healthcare professionals. If you need professional guidance or advice, we encourage you to seek professional assistance. None of the content has been reviewed or written by a medical professional and any reliance on the material on this site is at your own risk.