The root chakra helps you feel grounded and resist life’s challenges.  If your root chakra is out of balance, you may feel lack of stability which can result in feeling anxious, unsafe, and fearful.

 The Root Chakra is called in Sanskrit Muladhara which breaks down into two Sanskrit words: Mula which means “root” and Adhara meaning “base” or “support”.

It is believed that if your root chakra is unbalanced, it is likely that your other chakras will be out of balance as well. These five chakra yoga poses can help you balance your Muladhara.


    1. Chair pose (Utkatasana)

      Contrary to what one might think, Utkata in Sanskrit doesn’t mean “chair”, it means… “fierce” and sometimes the chair pose is called the Fierce Pose.

      Benefits Of Chair Pose

      The chair pose:

      • strengthens muscles as it engages your feet, legs, hips, shoulders, hamstrings, lower back as well as the abdominal muscles,
      • opens and stretches your chest and shoulders (by opening the chest, it improves your lung capacity),
      • improves balance,
      • boosts stamina,
      • can help improve your posture,
      • improves confidence and focus.

      The video:Chair Pose for Beginners: Step-By-Step Yoga Tutorial” by DoYou.

      root chakra affirmations poster framed

      Grab your FREE printable cheat sheet cards for each of your seven chakras. A handy reference guide when working with your chakras :).


      2. Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)

      In Sanskrit the bridge pose is called Setu Bandha Sarvangasana where Setu means “bridge”, Bandha: “lock”, Sarva: “all”, Anga: “limb” and Asana…, yes you guessed it, it means  “pose” :).

      Benefits Of Bridge Pose

      The bridge pose:

      • strengthens back, thighs, ankles, and glutes,

      • lowers back pain and back tension,
      • opens chest and heart,

      • improves blood circulation and digestion,

      • stimulates lungs, thyroid glands, and abdominal organs,

      • reduces stress, fatigue and anxiety,

      • alleviates headaches, insomnia, and mild depression.


      The video: “The Beginner’s Guide to Bridge Pose: A Step-By-Step Yoga Tutorial” by DoYou

      The reference chart you might find useful. To save or print the printable, just click on it 🙂


      3. Warrior II pose (Virabhadrasana II)

      In Sanskrit the warrior II pose is called Virabhadrasana where Vira refers to a “hero” and Bhadra means “friend”. The name comes from for a powerful warrior in Hindu mythology, Virabhadra.

      Benefits Of Warrior II Pose

      The warrior II pose:

      • strengthens and stretches legs, glutes, hips and knees (it is a great opener to the upper thighs),

      • opens chest and lungs (improving circulation and respiration),
      • improves endurance and strength of the muscles involved,

      • expends shoulders and arms,

      • develops balance and stability,

      • boosts concentration,

      • improves stamina.


      The video: “How to Do Warrior II Pose with Correct Alignment” by Yoga International

      root chakra affirmations poster framed

      Grab your FREE cheat sheet cards with stones for each chakra. A handy reference guide when working with your chakras :). 


      4. Mountain pose (Tadasana)

      In Sanskrit the mountain pose is called Tadasana, where Tada means “mountain”. Tadasana is a foundational yoga pose for all standing poses.

      Benefits Of Mountain Pose

      The mountain pose:

      • improves posture,

      • tones core muscles,

      • raises awareness and focus,

      • improves energy and boosts confidence,

      • promotes stillness and presence,
      • energizes and distresses.

      The video: “Mountain Pose Tutorial: How To and Health Benefits ( +Tips for Yoga Beginners)” by DoYou


      5. Standing Forward Bend (Uttanasana)

      In Sanskrit the standing forward bend (or fold) pose is called Uttanasana. Uttana means “intense stretch” (Ut meaning “intense” and Tan “stretch”).

      Benefits Of Standing Forward Bend Pose

      The standing forward bend pose:

      • stretches and lengthens the hamstrings and calves,

      • extends spine and keeps it flexible,

      • helps improve posture,

      • improves digestion,

      • energizes and relaxes,

      • improves sleep,

      • deepens mindfulness.

      The video: “How to Do Standing Forward Fold: Yoga Pose Tips and Benefits for Beginners” by DoYou

      The reference charts you might find useful. To save or print the printables, just click on the one you like 🙂

      To learn about 10 other brilliant methods to unblock your root chakra, make sure to take a look at this post.


      Copyrights to all free download materials belong to Your Blissful Self. They are for personal use only and cannot be sold or commercialised in any other way.

      And before you go to grab your yoga mat, make sure to grab your FREE chakra printables to decorate your yoga space with :)!

      Grab your FREE printable Chakra Posters!

      Your Blissful Self Shop


      All content and information on is for entertainment purposes only and does not substitute professional medical advice or consultations with healthcare professionals. If you need professional guidance or advice, we encourage you to seek professional assistance. None of the content has been reviewed or written by a medical professional and any reliance on the material on this site is at your own risk.